Flibbertigibbet

flibbertigibbit

The word ‘flibbertigibbet’ was another reason this blog began.

During a discussion it was pointed out that someone’s behaviour could have been explained by the fact that they were “taken aback by the arrival of this young flibbertigibbet.” I was instantly intrigued. I had never heard this word before! So to google I turned …

images

After I worked out the word was spelled ‘flibbertigibbet’, and not as I had assumed ‘flippity gibbet’, I was on the way to enlightenment.

Flibbertigibbet [flib-er-tee-jib-it] – a chattering or flighty, light-headed person.

I instantly thought of conversationsflibbertigibbet pic I used to have with my daughter, when she was younger. For example: ‘Mum, I played Avengers at lunch time today! I was in the playground near the flying thing, you know the triangle thing that moves. There were some little kids, I remember being a little kid. What is your first memory of school? Well I did a science experiment yesterday … look there’s something shiny over there … Mum, what are clouds made of? *giggles* I just remembered what I saw the other day …’

So much to say, so many shiny things.

Next I turned to my new favourite urbandictionary.com and found this definition as an option:

flibbertigibbet – a really long word

flibbertigibbet is a really long word (by sum1 May 07, 2003)

Other definitions say it means “an irresponsible, silly, or gossipy person”. 

Then I remembered that I had heard the word before – in a song, ‘How do you solve a problem like Maria.’ It was among many of the descriptions of her flighty and distracted, albeit musical and sweet, personality.

“In the movie, The Sound of Music, Maria is referred to as:

‘A flibbertigibbet; A will of a wisp; A clown.’ “

Obviously ‘Flibbertigibbets’ cause some people some concern.

Even though it sounds like such a friendly word, I’m not sure whether it’s insulting or not. It’s hard to say it in an angry way without smiling (I know you just tried to!).

Anyway, we all know someone like this. Whether they’re endearing or irritating they are always entertaining!

Until next time … *giggles* oh you silly billy, tee hee hee (skips away)

“flibbertigibbet.” Dictionary.com Unabridged. Random House, Inc. 10 Aug. 2015. <Dictionary.com http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/flibbertigibbet>.

This entry was posted in Wonderful Words and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

